A letter of special memories · TJC update · ZSC update

Baby, Toddler and I – 2 Months postpatum

Dear my lovelies,

This update is very late but here goes: Two Months old in the life of baby Theodore and a mini toddler update about Zachary. Also, I wrote down a few thoughts about how I have found the last two months! x

Theodore had his first set of immunizations when he was 8 weeks and 1 day old which was on the 11th  April. He handled his injections well, with minimal crying but he was quite warm for the following two days and very sleepy. He was last weighed on the 11th April, and he was 11lbs 4.5 oz which is quite a leap from 6lbs and 3 oz. Theodore is now wearing 0-3 months clothing and is in size 2 nappies. Theodore’s skin is quite dry and sensitive but we have been doing baby massage with natural oils.

He is progressing well and is giving us many smiles and it is so beautiful to see. This makes the challenging times worth it when he is smiling and cooing it melts my heart! He is making noises and trying to find his little voice. I think he is very familiar with the sounds of our voices and Zachary’s. Even at this early age, he is responding to us if we say his name and he seems to reply in baby babble whilst we chat to him. He becomes soothed whilst listening to our voices if he is upset and loves to be cuddled. He adores being in his baby wrap and is so peaceful in it. Everyone comments that he is a very relaxed baby and is very content with his life.

IMG_5768 (2)
My little baby bear Theodore x

 

Theodore truly is a little ray of sunshine and we adore him. He is becoming very alert throughout the day time and truly is loved by his big brother, who loves to bring him toys and will do his best to get his attention. Theodore is always so patient and tolerates the toddler behavior but also watches with amazement at his brother, always looking for him and watching him play. Zachary loves to turn the music on, which truly makes Theodore so smiley and Zachary will dance whilst Theodore has a floor party. Theodore has always been enjoying the warmer spring weather going outside in the garden most afternoons. On the 27th April 2017, I took Theodore’s first hand and footprints which are so small and cute and he created his first painting and this was his first form of messy play time together.

Theodore’s Hand-print and footprints (27.04.2017) x

We have been encouraging tummy time from birth really and he is holding his neck well and enjoys being on the floor. Theodore loves to wave his arms around and kick his little legs and will often look at the lights and his brother playing in the lounge. We are showing him more soft toys now and he enjoys listening to stories I tell them both together during quieter moments of the day.

Theodore is still not keen on bath time, but neither was Zachary at this age and I am sure he will when he is a little older. Theodore’s hair always goes straight during bath time and he has more little curls on top than Zachary had at this age. Currently, Theodore has not lost any of his baby hair yet.

My mini 20-month update for Zachary:

IMG_5379
A blurry yet funny image of us in the middle of spinning around x
IMG_5349
Zachary at 20 months old x

 

Zachary started a sensory play group class which we have joined for a term which he enjoys as it is increasing his loves of animals as it is themed around Safari animals. Zachary loves doing forest activities which he adores getting super muddy and singing the Hello song which he remembers very well as he sings it throughout the week at home too!  He loves playing instruments especially the tambourine and singing songs. He adores music and dancing around the living room. Zachary is becoming more independent in his self-care which shows he is growing so quickly! Zachary is also making more sense when he is talking and is really understanding when you ask him things and responding so well!

2 months postpartum for Mummy:

Its an adjustment to see how my body changed so dramatically since giving birth, I am proud of my bodies achievement dealing with an Emergency C-Section, A VBAC, growing two babies in under two years marks an incredible amount of strength, making me feel so strong and empowered. It is a blessing to have a healthy baby and my baby is being nourished by breast milk, but I strongly believe fed is best. I love the special bond we share and It makes me feel so happy that my experience has been so much relaxed second time around with breastfeeding. I am always mindful of my mental health and try to take the best care of my mind, doing everything to make me feel happy in myself. As the saying goes, happy mummy, happy baby which I find to be true. I am slowly building up the courage and strength to start regularly exercising again but taking small steps by walking more. I am really trying to go with the flow and attempting to get outside for a walk every day as outdoors seems to soothe everyone. We are also trying to stick to a weekly meal plan which we have done so far this week, so fingers crossed we will!  Having two under two is a juggling act of who to deal with first at times, most of the time its utter chaos and messy but I love how much joy and love both of our boys have brought to us and our families. The bond which they already share is so special and makes me fall more in love every day. Currently, all the smiles, laughter and loving memories outweigh the tantrums and crying. Recovery from a VBAC is much quicker and  I survive with all my strength and a lot of *chocolate and ice-cream*.  I will talk about my VBAC experience in more detail in an upcoming blog post.

I am slowly building up the courage and strength to start regularly exercising again but taking small steps by walking more. I am really trying to go with the flow and attempting to get outside for a walk every day as outdoors seems to soothe everyone. We are also trying to stick to a weekly meal plan which we have done so far this week, so fingers crossed we will!  Having two under two is a juggling act of who to deal with first at times, most of the time its utter chaos and messy but I love how much joy and love both of our boys have brought to us and our families. The bond which they already share is so special and makes me fall more in love every day. Currently, all the smiles, laughter and loving memories outweigh the tantrums and crying. Recovery from a VBAC is much quicker and I feel like I bounced back resilient to the quick  in front of me,  I survive with all my strength and a lot of *chocolate and ice-cream*.  I will talk about my VBAC experience in more detail in an upcoming blog post.

I am so grateful and appreciative of my loving Fiance and together we are parenting the sh*t out of life’

IMG_5817 (2)
Our Family photo on my 23rd Birthday! x

Thanks for reading!

To all the Mums out there reading this, you are a SUPERwoman and an incredible Mum. Let me know in the comments how you found the first two months postpartum?

Hope you have an amazing day in the yo beautiful world 🙂

Lots of love, Mummy xx

 

  • YOBEAUTIFULWORLD on Youtube – Please subscribe and follow our families journey x
Leave a Reply

